Pacific Northwest wine regions and climates

This paper presents a review of wine regions in the Pacific Northwest (PNW) of North America. The PNW consists of the states of Oregon, Washington and Idaho and the province of British Columbia. There are currently 36 governmentally approved regions in the PNW with 30 American Viticultural Areas (AVAs) in the states and 6 Designated Viticultural Areas (DVAs) in British Columbia with more being developed. General wine region characteristics and the climate structure for viticulture and wine production are detailed.

Author: Gregory V. Jones (1)

(1) Southern Oregon University, 1250 Siskiyou Blvd, Ashland, Oregon, USA


Keywords: Pacific Northwest, Oregon, Washington, Idaho, British Columba, American Viticultural Areas, Designated Viticultural Areas, viticulture, wine production, climate, terroir

Related Posts

Share via
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap